Timothy's Blog

Timothy's blog on dulcimers, music, nature and life!

Top picks for piano concertos, with Youtube links!

b2ap3_thumbnail_Szell-and-Serkin-PS1.jpg [photo: Serkin & Szell]

One of the ultimate forms in the Classical genre is the piano concerto, to which I have listened for my entire life with keen interest and involvement.  As a hammered dulcimer player, I find particular inspiration in the great concertos, and I try to somehow transmute that mode to my playing with other musicians, even though it’s in a vastly different setting.  (Or is it?)

My four favorite pianists, the ones who thrill me the most with their playing, are Arthur Rubinstein, Rudolf Serkin, Glenn Gould, and Martha Argerich.  But there are a number of others represented here as well, and some of the greatest players are not even shown here, such as Sviatislav Richter, Alicia de Larrocha, and Daniel Barenboim.  The decisions have been challenging, since there are indeed other wonderful presentations of each of these magnificent works!

The conductors and orchestras accompanying are especially important as well.  I find the perfect combination in some of these to be Rudolf Serkin and George Szell, an astonishing collaboration! 

I've again ordered the selections by birth years of conductors, so this list progresses fom the Baroque period to Classical to Romantic to modern --- quite a large development, but all worth experiencing!

After much consideration, then, here are my current first-level recommendations for a rarefied set of transcendent artistic works of genius.  As with the symphonies, I've put an *asterisk before the ones I recommend even more than the others as stunning works of art and meaning.  

And now I've made links to Youtube selections of each one with a star! (For a couple of them I had to substitute a similar one by the same artist; and if the link is only to the first movement of a piece, make sure you listen to the second and third too!)

If these are new to you, have at it, and I hope your life is newly enriched!  If you’re a veteran appreciator, let me know your assessments!

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

*No. 1 in D Minor --- Gould/Bernstein/Columbia

*No. 2 in E Major --- Gould/Golschmann/Columbia

*No. 3 in D Major --- Gould/Golschmann/Columbia

*No. 4 in A Major --- Gould/Golschmann/Columbia

*No. 5 in F Minor --- Gould/Golschmann/Columbia

*No. 7 in G Minor --- Gould/Golschmann/Columbia

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)

No. 17 in G Major --- Rubinstein/ Wallenstein/RCA

No. 18 in Bb Major --- Argerich/Jochum/Bavarian Radio

*No. 19 in F Major --- Serkin/Szell/Columbia

*No. 20 in D Minor --- Serkin/Szell/Columbia

*No. 21 in C Major --- Rubinstein/ Wallenstein/RCA

No. 23 in A Major --- Rubinstein/Wallenstein/RCA

*No. 24 in C Minor --- Rubinstein/Krips/RCA

*No. 25 in C Major --- Argerich/Wallberg/Royal Concertgebouw

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

*No. 1 in C Major --- Argerich/Wallberg/Royal Concertgebouw

*No. 2 in Bb Major --- Gould/Bernstein/Columbia

*No. 3 in C Minor --- Serkin/Bernstein/New York

*No. 4 in G Major --- Fleisher/Szell/Cleveland

*No. 5 in Eb Major --- Rubinstein/Leinsdorf/Boston

Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)

No. 1 in G Minor --- Serkin/Ormandy/Philadelphia

No. 2 in D Minor --- Serkin/Ormandy/Philadelphia

Frederic Chopin (1810-1849)

No. 1 in E Minor--- Argerich/Abbado/London Symphony

No. 2 in F Minor--- Rubinstein/Ormandy/Philadelphia

Robert Schumann (1810-1856)

*In A Minor --- Serkin/Ormandy/Philadelphia (2 versions, both great)

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

*No. 1 in D Minor--- Serkin/Szell/Cleveland

*No. 2 in Bb Major --- Serkin/Szell/Cleveland

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)

*No. 1 in Bb Minor --- Cliburn/Kondrashin/RCA

Edvard Grieg (1843-1907)

*In A Minor--- Rubinstein/Wallenstein/Boston

Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943)

*No. 2 in C Minor --- Rubinstein/Reiner/Chicago

*No. 3 in D Minor --- Horowitz/Reiner/Chicago

Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953)

No. 1 in Db Major --- Graffman/Szell/Cleveland

No. 3 in C Major --- Argerich/Abbado/Berlin

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)

No. 1 in C Minor--- Argerich/Nakariakov/Svizzera Italiana

No. 2 in F Major--- Bernstein/Bernstein/New York

b2ap3_thumbnail_67f628050aba201e282a1f6add545c21.jpg [photo: Abbado & Argerich]

Top picks for symphonies --- with Youtube links!
The overall arch of a musical piece

Related Posts


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Please Note: This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

Browser settings can be adjusted to control cookies. Failure to make adjustments constitutes your agreement to their usage. Learn more

I understand

Information about Cookies

A cookie is a small piece of data (usually a text file) that a website asks your browser to store on your computer or mobile device. It enables the website to remember your actions and preferences (such as login, language, font size and other display preferences) over a period of time, so you don’t have to keep re-entering them whenever you come back to the site or browse from one page to another. Most browsers support cookies, but users can set their browsers to decline them and can delete them whenever they like. Cookies can be used to collect and store user data while connected to provide you with requested services. More information about cookies can be found at http://www.aboutcookies.org.

In addition to cookies that remember your preferences mentioned above, cookies are used for the purpose of purchasing items off this website, and for login and user profile details should you provide them by creating an account or signing up for the blog posts or newsletter.

Third party cookies are also used on this site. Specifically, Google Analytics is used on this site -- a popular web analytics service provided by Google, Inc. Google Analytics uses cookies to help us analyze how users use this site. It counts the number of visitors and tells us things about their behavior overall – such as the typical length of stay on the site or the average number of pages a user views.

The information generated by the cookie about your use of our website (including your IP address) will be transmitted to and stored by Google on servers in the United States. Google will use this information for the purpose of evaluating your use of our website, compiling reports on website activity and providing other services relating to website activity and internet usage.

Google may also transfer this information to third parties where required to do so by law, or where such third parties process the information on Google's behalf. Google undertakes not to associate your IP address with any other data held by Google.

If you have Adobe Flash installed on your computer (most computers do) and utilize audio or video players, Google Analytics will try to store some additional data on your computer. This data is known as a Local Shared Object or Flash cookie. This helps us to analyze the popularity of our media files.

Finally, this website makes use of Google Maps. Google Maps is used to provide locations for Timothy Seaman's performances. In clicking on a performance location, you can allow or deny Google Maps knowledge of your location for purposes of getting directions from your location to the event site.

You can control and/or delete cookies as you wish – for details, see aboutcookies.org. You can delete all cookies that are already on your computer and you can set most browsers to prevent them from being placed. If you do this, however, you may have to manually adjust some preferences every time you visit a site and some services and functionalities may not work.

Your failure to control and/or delete cookies for this site constitutes your acceptance of cookies as outlined above.